Ginger Scallion Noodles

I make this dish on a regular basis.  So often, in fact, that posting the dish has been overlooked repeatedly.

There are usually scallions and ginger lying around and the rest of the ingredients are in the pantry.  This is a great lunchtime meal, especially if I’m planning a longer run that evening.    It will get more interesting this summer when there will be a wider variety of pickled vegetables available.  The freshness of minced (or grated) ginger with the bite of the scallions brighten up the noodles.

The photos here are from Bo Ssäm night, about five weeks ago.  I’ll make this again for Bo Ssäm 2: Jersey Edition, when I make it for the parents, siblings and a few other rugrats over Easter weekend, the non fish day, of course.

Knife work courtesy of Jessica, she did most of the prep work for Bo SSäm.

Notice the beer during the prep…  Reminds me of the great line “there’s no reason this can’t be fun” by Philip Seymuor Hoffman playing Gus Avrakotos in Charlie Wilson’s War.  After all, isn’ this the reason we all cook?  Good food and friends, couple of drinks.

A little vinegar…

Ginger and scallions, of course

Some usukuchi (Korean light soy sauce).  I’m beginning to like this stuff more than the Panda brand premium soy sauce I normally use.

Voila!  We had to transfer to a slightly larger bowl to mix it up, but you get the idea.

I use it for noodles all the time now, at least once a week.

I’m contemplating pairing this with lamb or pork meatballs and spaghetti for a  fusion take on this.  It’s no surprise Momofuku uses this as a mother sauce, the applications are limitless.

The timing is perfect as well.  Fist, make the ginger scallion sauce, it needs to sit for 15-20 minutes.  Second, boil some water, feel free to check email or whatever while that’s going on.  Third, cook the ramen noodles.  You’re eating in 30 minutes with a break in between.

As instructed in the Momofuku Cookbook, serve with some pickled vegetables.  That’s part of the next post.  Spoiler Alert: Pickled Fennel is phenomenal!

7 Responses to “Ginger Scallion Noodles”


  1. 1 Derrick April 22, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I like to make this sauce and then puree it. I then toss it with noodles like a pesto. Give it a shot!

  2. 2 Jenna April 19, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers? I’d certainly
    appreciate it.

  3. 3 cars June 1, 2013 at 11:56 am

    Car shopping is stressful. Now that there are hundreds of makes and models to choose from, not
    to mention promotions and payment options, it’s easy to become frustrated and stressed out. The information here will help make buying a car as easy and stress-free as possible.

  4. 4 unlock code for htc titan June 4, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
    penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Kudos

  5. 5 Pearl June 4, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    I’m pretty pleased to uncover this website. I need to to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely loved every part of it and I have you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff in your web site.

  6. 6 Erwin June 13, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    I like the helpful information you provide in
    your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  7. 7 Finley October 25, 2013 at 4:49 am

    What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I hope to contribute & aid other users like its aided me.
    Great job.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


